Growing under lights - Diurnal cycle

my nellie

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Some days ago I posted a question of mine regarding plants' need for darkness in previously existing threads about artificial lighting.
In the meantime I did a search on the internet and I kept the main points of those scientific articles, papers etc.
I think I would like to share what I have come across my search for anyone who might be interested in this matter.
I would also like to ask anyone who is qualified by profession and studies to comment on.
Certainly you will find it lengthy but this is the most compressed summary I could make..., so thank you for your time!

Plants and animals are programmed to function in a certain pattern of daylight and darkness. Alter those patterns and unhealthy things often happen.

Plants have a diurnal cycle just like animals. They need darkness to reset the biochemical mechanisms and rebuilt the enzymes needed for the Krebs cycle.

There must be a distinct and indisputable difference between daylight and nighttime hours in indoor growing plants, just as there would be if they were growing outdoors.

Plants are naturally programmed to perform certain functions in the dark that are not possible when a source of light is present. Without this, plants cannot properly breathe or process their food, not being able to convert the day’s stored up energy into sugars they can consume or to get oxygen and release CO2. This is known as respiration, the lack of which leads to lesser root growth and an overall slowing even failure of crop development.

During daylight hours plants are busy creating carbohydrates from the energy the sun bestows which is technically known as photosynthesis. They are also taking in carbon dioxide and putting out oxygen.