GSBF Workshop - Michael Hagedorn - Engelmann Spruce

Brian Underwood

Chumono
Reaction score
Over the GSBF weekend, I took a workshop with Michael Hagedorn. The engelmann spruce material was fantastic! All old bark, nice natural trunks, and mine in particular had an incredible amount of buds all over the branches. Michael is a great teacher, and very friendly with a contagious, quite unique laugh. It was an enjoyable workshop to say the least. He did the usual spiel about where the material was collected (Washington near mt. Hood or something...), aftercare, and pruning techniques, as well as helping the beginners with wiring. He flitted between tables, working as fast as he could, making me re-wire about half of all my work, but I think everything turned out great.

If anyone has any pictures of the workshop, feel free to post them here.

Also, all the wiring was done by me, so please don't think Michael is an amateur, though feel free to think I am a professional ;)

Attachments

• convention workshop spruce.jpg
    convention workshop spruce.jpg
    82.4 KB · Views: 335
  • spruce front.jpg
    spruce front.jpg
    145 KB · Views: 342
  • spruce wire.jpg
    spruce wire.jpg
    189.7 KB · Views: 331

Brian Underwood

Chumono
Reaction score
Shohin Coast Redwood

I got bored on Friday waiting for the festivities to start, so I bought a little redwood from the Shimons and styled it. When I was done styling, I decided it needed a nice pot. Jim Barrett was the next table down, so I picked up this little handmade piece which in my opinion fits the tree nicely. Finally, a shohin redwood I like! And all for the low, low price of $83 including the pot. I think I like conventions...

Attachments

• shohin red 1.JPG
    shohin red 1.JPG
    130.1 KB · Views: 224
  • shohin red 2.JPG
    shohin red 2.JPG
    134.1 KB · Views: 223

Smoke

Ignore-Amus
Reaction score
USDA Zone