Hand me down J. beech----help

ABCarve

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
I just have been enlisted to "save her bonsai". She wants me to have them (but not just yet...hmmm) because she can't take care of them anymore. She's been doing it since the mid-60s. So I've got this J. beech or E. beech ( she can't remember) and in dire need of chasing back. The trunk is about 1-1/4 dia. I've never worked with beech before. What's the best way to proceed? I was going to repot, get the weeds and old soil out, and cut back to one bud per branch. Too drastic?? It must have been a small forest or multi-trunk at one time from the stumps around the trunk. Wadaya think ---potential?

Attachments

• _MG_1468.jpg
    _MG_1468.jpg
    134 KB · Views: 394
  • _MG_1473.jpg
    _MG_1473.jpg
    172 KB · Views: 331
  • _MG_1471.jpg
    _MG_1471.jpg
    209.9 KB · Views: 321

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Your plan sounds solid. Here's about how I'd prune it back. If the right primary branch has buds, I'd cut back to the first bud on each of its secondary branches; even if the buds are pretty small.

I think you could get pretty aggressive combing out the roots, but I'd avoid pruning them back too far.

They are really late to break bud, so the timing is probably very good.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    110.3 KB · Views: 301

ABCarve

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Your plan sounds solid. Here's about how I'd prune it back. If the right primary branch has buds, I'd cut back to the first bud on each of its secondary branches; even if the buds are pretty small.

I think you could get pretty aggressive combing out the roots, but I'd avoid pruning them back too far.

They are really late to break bud, so the timing is probably very good.

Thanks Brian. I've been following your progression thread...great work. I'm not sure this one will fall into that formal upright style though.

ABCarve

Masterpiece
Reaction score