Has anyone seen this before?

shinmai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
IMG_0357.JPG IMG_0356.JPG Over the last few days my Natal plum has had leaves turning brown, on the edges at first but then eventually the whole leaf, becoming brittle and falling or easily knocked off. When it started I thought maybe sunburn, because we had a pre-dawn deluge followed by bright, fairly hot sun. I thought perhaps the water droplets were magnifying the bright sun and causing a burn, which I've seen many times on roses. I moved the tree to a shaded/indirect place in the yard, but things seem to be getting worse. Is this possibly a fungus of some kind?

Attachments

• IMG_0356.JPG
    IMG_0356.JPG
    335.4 KB · Views: 63

f1pt4

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
That soil looks inorganic. Is that just a top dressing, or is the whole soil Pumice/Akadama or whatnot?

My first thought was over watering. It looks like a root issue to me? Don't have any experience with Natal Plums, so I'm no expert with this species.

shinmai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
It had been in an off the shelf 'tropical' mix that was not draining well--no doubt because I didn't know how much the fine, dusty organic matter would clog up. I gently replaced most of the soil with a sifted version of the same stuff mixed 50/50 with some akadama I had on hand. I had a cupful or so of leftover kanuma and a smidge of the akadama so I tossed it on top as a dressing. This was maybe three weeks ago.
We did go through two weeks [last week and the one before] where it rained almost every night, so for about ten days I didn't Water at all, but everything was soaked.

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Your roots are in trouble. When did you last repot? Look at the whole tree - it is drying up / becoming desiccated. You can see it in all the leaves as well as the stems.