Has your favorite style of bonsai changed?

Silentrunning

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Since I am new to bonsai I can remember easily what attracted me to it. At first I liked the lush miniature trees that looked like the trees in my front yard. But as I studied both bonsai and horticulture I have become a big fan of literati and cascade trees. With sparse foliage it is as if the tree is telling a life story of its struggles. I love the tree that looks like it was dug out of a cliff at the edge of a tree line on some mountain. I’m just curious if others have had changes in their bonsai choices.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
I've been in the hobby many years, more than a couple decades. My taste in trees continually evolves, what I liked in the beginning may not get me as interested as a different style today. Cascades, initially were "it". Then I tried creating one and failed, actually failed quite a few times. Began to be able to see flaws and critique cascades, saw how few are done well. Today I prefer a naturalistic more or less upright design. But while no longer my favorite, I still appreciate a well done cascade because I see the technical skills required to do it well.

There's very few styles I dislike, some are more exciting than others, but even the often repeated styles will get my attention if particularly well done. And flamboyant styling, with extravagant dead wood is one that can appear to me to be too gaudy. Key is avoid "over the top" features. Harmony is key.

Saddler

Chumono
Reaction score