Hello all, I got a Chinese Elm for Christmas

Bonsai Babby

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Hello everyone.

I am new to bonsai, in that I have never kept one successfully. I did try to grow a red leaf Japanese maple from the seed once, and it sprouted and grew four leaves before dying. I suspect the lack of sunlight on my balcony was the main problem.

I was given a Chinese Elm for Christmas this year. I still live in the same place where the balcony has limited sunlight, but from what I read this tree is fairly forgiving, so I am hoping it will fare better than the ill-fated maple.

Here is a picture of my new tree. I just got it and stuck it out there in the bag and all, forgive the mess. I will probably be removing the nice man sitting on the rocks when I re-pot it. Now, my first impression is that I would like to have the trunk curve a bit. I have been reading a little about trunk bending, is it too late for this one?

I am going to order some wire and snipping tools, and keep reading on what else I will need for this guy. I look forward to being a part of this community. The internet is great, it enables people from around the whole world to connect and share advice and experience.

bK4KyUI.jpg

Reaction score
Straight trunk and a bit of taper at the base. No big scarring at the trunk. Might make a cool broom. Depending on your ability to water and climate you might repot in a more draining mix right before buds open in spring. I would advice to wait with pruning until the first flush is hardened in early summer and cutting back hard to remove some of the thick branches. Avoid having more than 2 branches at every junction. There is a lot to read about Chinese elms. They are great. Don't pinch for the first 10 years.

Tieball

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Just my thoughts