Hello from Fort Worth Texas

James H

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Hello everyone, my name is James and I am currently in fort worth texas. I am new to bonsai, and cant wait to start really working with my trees. I currently have two willow leaf ficus and a tiger bark ficus. The willow leaf were saved from the trash can at my work and the tiger bark ficus i bought.

I am looking at getting an subalpine fir from my parents house outside of Colorado and was wondering if anyone has tried to grow them in a warmer climate. It is a natural bonsai where it is and I am very interested in trying to get it and grow it myself.

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
The fir WILL die. Don't bother. Save a tree.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
What Jim said. Firs are cold weather trees to begin with, and my understanding is that subalpine firs are hard to maintain in a pot even for those who work with them within a short distance of where they grow naturally. There's a phenomenom seen amongst bonsai enthusiasts known as Zone Envy- where one wishes one could grow a tree in a climate that is not even close to ideal for the species in question. Watching a beautiful tree languish and die over a period of years despite your best efforts is frustrating and can lead to leaving the art entirely...trust me, I've been there. One of the best bits of advice for someone new to bonsai is to focus on tree species that grow easily in your local. Skip the fir until you move back to CO and welcome to bonsai!

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome to B-Nut!

As Dave said, get what grows local to us...it will make your bonsai life much easier and fulfilling. :) I did not and paying the price (i.e. moving tropical trees in and out to protect them from cold). It is not fun.