Hello from Massachusetts!

Sassafras

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi all!
I'm so glad to have found a forum of people interested in these wonderful little trees.
I'm new to Bonsai, so you'll probably be seeing me around pretty often, can't wait to learn. šŸŽ“
I just started my adventure with some Eastern White Pine sprouts that I found on my walks in the woods, any advice on those guys is welcome!

hinmo24t

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Hi all!
I'm so glad to have found a forum of people interested in these wonderful little trees.
I'm new to Bonsai, so you'll probably be seeing me around pretty often, can't wait to learn. šŸŽ“
I just started my adventure with some Eastern White Pine sprouts that I found on my walks in the woods, any advice on those guys is welcome!
welcome, what part of MA are you from? Dartmouth MA here.

the white pines arent ideal for bonsai, written off by most and i concur with that sentiment.

look for some pitch pine from MA, beech, holly (the smaller leaf, non sharp tooth ones or those even, despite what people say about leaf size) maples and sweetgum, to name some that i think about in nature/landscapes around here.

good luck,

Tom

and no offense but the sassafras are a write off as well, but cool nonetheless

Sassafras

Seedling
Reaction score
welcome, what part of MA are you from? Dartmouth MA here.

the white pines arent ideal for bonsai, written off by most and i concur with that sentiment.

look for some pitch pine from MA, beech, holly (the smaller leaf, non sharp tooth ones or those even, despite what people say about leaf size) maples and sweetgum, to name some that i think about in nature/landscapes around here.

good luck,

Tom

and no offense but the sassafras are a write off as well, but cool nonetheless
Thanks for the advice! I'm actually in western Mass (think Holyoke/Northampton area), so the weather is finally warming up.