Hello from MN - Questions from a beginner

amithus

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4ab
Hello everyone. I've filled out my profile prior to posting this as I've read where you guys like to see this before being able to answer some questions.

I've been given a few bonsai trees over the past year and I would like some more info on them. I've got a local club that I can tap for resources but they don't meet until the 15th and I don't want to show up completely new and not having all that I'll need for this meet, and seeing as it's my first time, I don't have another person I know going to help me out.

They will be having a beginner class on tropical bonsai repotting, which is awesome because I have a Hawaiian Umbrella tree that's been going well for a year now. I've read several books, read the internet, watched you tube and am now a part of these forums. I've also read several posts on this and I know this topic is pretty much never answered but I've got to try. The course is on repotting tropical and with my Umbrella tree, I'll need a few things:

1. Soil
2. Pot
3. Anything else you tell me to get within reason.

Small back story, I've always loved trees and bonsai trees. When I purchased my first home a few years back, I got it because it has 4 huge maple and blue spruce trees on the lot and I fell in love with the back yard because of this. Not so much in the fall after the 30 yard bags worth of leafs need to be raked up but hey, nothing good comes from no work right?

Anyway, what's a good soil for my Umbrella tree? I'm not a master but I do regularly check my trees, make sure they are watered and have successfully fertilized them along with treating them for a minor outbreak of spider mites, and I'm only saying this because I wanted to show that I'm willing to tend to the trees.