Hello! Newbie here with some ficus :)

AlBooBoo

Mame
Reaction score
I am pretty new to bonsai but i have found that it is something i really wanna use a lot of time and effort into doing.

So i am posting some pictures of my ficus benjaminas along with some questions and thoughts and hope to get some advices from the more experienced :)

I have been experimenting a bit with the soil part and for the plants that i have putted in bonsai pots a few days ago i have made a mix of lots of perlite some spagnum and a little bit of cactus soil mixed with worm soil compost.

I have my plants indoor under 14 hours of artificial lights (will get growing lights)
and placed them inside growing boxes with stones and water in for getting more humidity.
I really want those aerial roots to grow :)

IMG_1988.jpg
This is my 1 year old plant that started it all.. all ive done with this is removing the top layer of soil so far and repotted it yesterday. But i really want the trunk to thicken more.

IMG_1984.jpg
About a month old and one of 2 plants i bought and cutted down hard.
Repotted yesterday and pruned the roots a bit as well.

IMG_1974.jpg
The other one of the 2 nursery plants.
Still in nursery pot and new shoots are coming all over.
Trying to wrap in plastic for getting those aerial roots.

And here`s just a few pictures of the bench and some cuttings.. what is the best way for taking cuttings of ficus? straight in soil or water first ?
IMG_1980.jpg
IMG_1982.jpg

So some questions:

1. Am i doing something wrong?
2. What should be my next steps? (really want those aerial roots and thicker trunks)
3. Is there a rule of thumb on how often a ficus can take some stress? (like pruning, leaf reduction etc)

What are your thoughts? :)

All help will be appreciated :)

tmmason10

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b