Help! Air layer wisteria-what now??

Chesca22

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Hello! I am a newbie to bonsai & any help is soo greatly appreciated. I did an air layer on a mature wisteria. I did it about 5 weeks ago and it has quite a bit of white/yellowish roots in the moss bag. I know I should have done it in the spring, but I was excited to try it & to my shock it did grow roots. My question is, what type of pot should I put it in & what type of soil? The layer is about 20 inches long, 20 inches wide at the top & a little less than 3/4 inch wide at the trunk. I have a round pot that is 14 inches in diamater at the top. It is 8 inches on the bottom & 6 inches tall. I have seen wisteria in shallow pots but have read they need a deep pot. I would like to eventually have it in a much smaller diameter & shallow pot. I have also read where you should pot bonsai on a tile to have the roots grow horizontally. I'm not sure exactly how to do that. On the soil, I have read so many things on the best soil that I really don't know what to use. Also, once I cut it & pot it I was going to put it in my window that faces the south & gets plenty of sun. Please any suggestions are welcomed. Thank you so much!!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Pics or you lyin!

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Chesca22

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Hello! Thank you, glad to be here!
Here is a picture of the little beauty! 🙂

Attachments

• 20200925_111433.jpg
    20200925_111433.jpg
    201.7 KB · Views: 58
  • 20200925_111457.jpg
    20200925_111457.jpg
    199.3 KB · Views: 58

AlainK

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A