Help ficus styling advice

walton1993

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

My dad has a ficus that wasn’t taken care of very well over the last 5 years (i.e. thick wire marks, some inverse taper, awkward branches etc.)

I’m still new to bonsai but I’ve made the first step to clean up the tree - about 2 months ago, I defoliated the tree, took out some of the awkward branches, and partially wired the branches.

I was hoping to get styling advice on how I can restyle the tree and perhaps identify which could be the best front. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Note: I believe the first picture attached is the original front.

Attachments

• C67EB140-76F7-49E5-A059-75B5E2DF2E61.jpeg
    C67EB140-76F7-49E5-A059-75B5E2DF2E61.jpeg
    233 KB · Views: 133
  • 3CE32FBB-8B63-4686-8515-424727D3FF6F.jpeg
    3CE32FBB-8B63-4686-8515-424727D3FF6F.jpeg
    235 KB · Views: 133
  • 55D4BCE0-820F-4A99-BEF4-6E4FBF7EAAC7.jpeg
    55D4BCE0-820F-4A99-BEF4-6E4FBF7EAAC7.jpeg
    266.9 KB · Views: 134
  • 59610481-49DF-4186-8DE3-13899A5F5953.jpeg
    59610481-49DF-4186-8DE3-13899A5F5953.jpeg
    258.6 KB · Views: 122

Schmikah

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi everyone!

My dad has a ficus that wasn’t taken care of very well over the last 5 years (i.e. thick wire marks, some inverse taper, awkward branches etc.)

I’m still new to bonsai but I’ve made the first step to clean up the tree - about 2 months ago, I defoliated the tree, took out some of the awkward branches, and partially wired the branches.

I was hoping to get styling advice on how I can restyle the tree and perhaps identify which could be the best front. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Note: I believe the first picture attached is the original front.

I won't comment on styling, but you might have a gold mine with that root-over-rock.

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b