Help! I think my tree is dying!

Pjain5768

Seedling
Reaction score
image.jpg image.jpg So I'm new to bonsai and I got this Fukien tea tree about a year ago and it was doing fine, but then I repotted it into a different pot and the leaves started to become darker and would fall off if you just touched them. I looked online and assumed that it may not have been getting enough water so I started to water it more often but the situation has worsened. If anyone could tell me what is going on I would greatly appreciate it.

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Soil looks to be the culprit. Probably staying too wet.

Gregory DeNinno

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
What type of soil did you repot it in? Is it indoors or outdoors. I have several that i've rescued from big box dead and dying discount racks and they grow like weeds when they are happy. They are tropical so they need lots of sun and warm temperatures.

MichaelS

Masterpiece
Reaction score
The number one thing to learn when growing anything in a container is how to keep the roots happy. If they are not they will slowly (or quickly) die...and the plant is dead. A whole book could be written on this subject alone but the basics are, *repot during the ''up time'' (when the tree is not going into dormancy but has a growing period ahead ...this can even be after summer), *Do not over water after repotting. Just once well and then only after it dries. This forces roots to grow. *The container should dry out reasonably quickly. If it does not it is too big and/or the medium is too fine. Cut roots + wet substrate leaves the plant open to infection. Never feed straight after potting.

bonsaidave

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Mine gets angry after repotting or moving in for winter. Drops about 1/4 of its leaves over a couple weeks but never all wilty like that.

If it was a little wilty, from being too dry, it should have perked up within 24 hours after watering. Experience talk there ;)