Help identifying type!

Reaction score
Hey! I'm brand new to bonsai... Hoping I can get a bit of direction!

I have ginseng ficus, and have just bought this new one (picture attached)... But I'm not quite sure what type it is or general care for it!

Any help would be HUGE!

Attachments

• 15962395105448156201723033329571.jpg
    15962395105448156201723033329571.jpg
    169.4 KB · Views: 40

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
You are now the owner of a Juniper. Probably Juniper procumbens and the variety 'nana' is usually sold as bonsai. Look after it as for most junipers.
Outside is best for junipers. feed, water and prune when it gets too long.
I see that you have not given a location in your profile so it is hard to give specific details about things like winter or summer care.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

DonovanC

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
@Shibui covered it! I agree, Juniperus procumbens.
Junipers love sun! Outside year-round is best. Give her the most sweltering spot in your garden, but don’t let her dry out - she may never forgive you!

Reaction score
Thanks for the info folks! @Shibui , I live in Windsor, Ontario, Canada... Warm, moist summers... Cold dry winters. Surrounded by the Great lakes!

What's my strategy for repotting? I've heard every 2 years... But is that from germination? It's in a 5inch pot right now and is about 5-6 inches tall. Also... What's my best mixture for repotting soil??

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?