Help me ID my new Bonsai Tree

elouise11

Seed
Reaction score
Hello! I am new to owning a bonsai tree and I really want it to live for as long as possible. In order for that to happen, I understand that I will need to practice proper care for this particular tree. Can any of you tell me what type of tree this is? Any links or information for caring for this type of tree are both welcomed and appreciated! Thanks for any help you can provide!

Attachments

• bonsai full.jpg
    bonsai full.jpg
    161.4 KB · Views: 95
  • bonsai leaves.jpg
    bonsai leaves.jpg
    140.3 KB · Views: 94
  • bonsai leaves 2.jpg
    bonsai leaves 2.jpg
    96.8 KB · Views: 72
  • bonsai soil:trunk:base..jpg
    bonsai soil:trunk:base..jpg
    160.7 KB · Views: 69
Last edited:

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
It is a juniper and it isn't in the best of health.

You don't give you location which is key to providing you with care. This tree SHOULD NOT BE INSIDE.

elouise11

Seed
Reaction score
It is a juniper and it isn't in the best of health.

You don't give you location which is key to providing you with care. This tree SHOULD NOT BE INSIDE.
Thank you for the speedy response! I am located in the United States in Louisiana. As for its health, how can I improve it?

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thank you for the speedy response! I am located in the United States in Louisiana. As for its health, how can I improve it?
Get it outside. Stop misting it. Watch the watering. The soil is too dense and holds onto water, which means the soil remains wet for a very long time. It won't need watering every day, or probably even every week. Stick a chopstick an inch deep into the soil. use it as a sort of dipstick to monitor soil moisture--if the end is dry when you pull it up to look, the plant needs water. If its damp or wet, it doesn't