Help! My Satsuki Azalea Bonsai began wilting

Reaction score
I got my tree about a month ago and it has seemed to be doing really good. I water and mist it daily. I use about 1/3 cup of filtered water but some water goes through the bottom of the pot. When I received it, there were some green balls in the soil. It currently has buds and I have clipped off damaged or dead leaves, but its had new growth since I have had it. I fertilize it once a week with a miracle grow for acid loving plants. I keep it inside because where I live it is very dry and hot, up to 105 F. I keep my plant on a counter next to a window that gets both shaded and direct sunlight every day and my house is about 78 F inside.

Im really sad that my plant isn't doing well and Im really concerned. This is my first time having a bonsai tree and I thought I was doing a great job and I thought I was following directions I found on multiple sites but Im not sure what is happening. I even collected rainwater to give to it.

If anyone has any suggestions please let me know and thank you so much.

Attachments

• IMG_1479.JPG
    IMG_1479.JPG
    282 KB · Views: 101
  • IMG_1480.JPG
    IMG_1480.JPG
    298.7 KB · Views: 100
  • IMG_1481.JPG
    IMG_1481.JPG
    268.2 KB · Views: 101

Victorim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Stop furting for the moment, may be retaining to salts for the soil and has slow release anyway. Can't it go outside in non direct light? Don't think you can keep azaleas inside mate. Looks very unhappy :(

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Put it outdoors.
Azaleas are not houseplants.
Give it a spot with some morning sun and then shade all day, they like shade....but don't like kitchens.
Also, you may be over-watering, especially with a highly moisture retentive substrate like that....
Azaleas like to stay "moist, but not wet."

So I'd start there....outside, shady spot, forget the misting, regulate the watering....

Good luck with it!