HELP: Pruning/Shaping

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a beginner and got my first Bonsai last Winter. It is been 10 months I have this Ficus and i recently re-potted it. As spring is here I need help pruning and shaping my tree. It someone could shed some light on what should be the front of my tree and how can i go about shaping or pruning it that would be great.

Attachments

• 20160302_195304.jpg
    20160302_195304.jpg
    189.1 KB · Views: 64
  • 20160302_195327.jpg
    20160302_195327.jpg
    223.2 KB · Views: 65

thomas22

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to BNut. Picture 2 could be the front. If it were mine I would chop the right side at the red line and next year ground layer at the bottom red lines. Also, as the trunk grows wire some movement into it with the branched at the outside of the curves. I will take several years and much more learning to get a decent looking bonsai but this tree has potential. You should find some info on the forum on ground layering if you don't know what that is. Good luck.

Attachments

• Ficus help vert.jpg
    Ficus help vert.jpg
    221.9 KB · Views: 61
Reaction score
Really appreciate your quick response :) I like your idea of cutting the right side and I will read into some ground layering as well.

thomas22

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Keep in mind my advice is just to get the trunk going in the right direction. After you get a decent trunk then you can begin work on the branches and overall shape of the tree. Hopefully, some others will chime in and give you some more ideas.

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
You're not ready for styling yet....
Ground layer, is a good idea for this type of tree, to get a good trunk with proper taper....
I have one too, I think I'm just going to completely chop the "tubers" off of mine, and plant it. Basically treat the whole tree like a cutting....