Help saving these (Huge) trees that were going to get thrown out at work

JP740

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am very new to Bonsai, but these beautiful trees were going to get thrown out at work so I picked them up hoping to save them! Can y'all help me out?

From what I can tell this is not an ideal time to repot. I am in the Pittsburgh area I think zone 6? Just want to make sure I can do everything I can to get them through the winter! Also, can someone help me identify them?? Thanks!

Any other suggestions are welcome as well in terms of what would be good after winter, obviously they are huge...

tempImage7xu7VY.jpgtempImageal8gRx.jpgtempImageD8sjGb.jpg

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
They look like mugo or scots pine to me (leaning toward mugo) and Id get them back in the ground ASAP
Do not trim the roots any more

beautiful trees, I hope they make it

JP740

Seedling
Reaction score
They look like mugo or scots pine to me (leaning toward mugo) and Id get them back in the ground ASAP
Do not trim the roots any more

beautiful trees, I hope they make it
What’s the thought process with planting them in the ground, over potting them? They both have very shallow roots and lots of them with lots of small fibrous roots

BobbyLane

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
you got more roots than most get, when they dig stuff out the ground. on that alone id say they have a good chance in suitable containers with good free draining soil. maybe pots full of pumice. wouldnt take off any more root but find containers large enough to accommadate.

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
What’s the thought process with planting them in the ground, over potting them? They both have very shallow roots and lots of them with lots of small fibrous roots

Are you prepared to pot them right now without having to reduce the roots more or jam them into the pot?
Do you have containers large enough and enough pumice to put them in