Help Starting Out With an American Larch

Frieden

Seed
Reaction score
Hi everyone... I'll start out by saying I'm very new to bonsai and this forum. I live in Atlantic Canada, and just this afternoon I dug up this Larch. It is about 35cm tall and I would like to stop it from getting any taller, and ideally shorten it a little bit. Any tips are very welcome especially on pruning/wiring, I'm just looking for insight, ideas, or even finding out that I've approached this all wrong, if I have. Thanks in advance!IMG_20170517_205456.jpg

f1pt4

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi everyone... I'll start out by saying I'm very new to bonsai and this forum. I live in Atlantic Canada, and just this afternoon I dug up this Larch. It is about 35cm tall and I would like to stop it from getting any taller, and ideally shorten it a little bit. Any tips are very welcome especially on pruning/wiring, I'm just looking for insight, ideas, or even finding out that I've approached this all wrong, if I have. Thanks in advance!View attachment 146054

Welcome.

Cut it above the first branch, and let it grow. You want to start building taper.

In the meantime, read as much as you can from a wealth of sources. There's a ton of info on this forum alone. Just use the search option.

Check out vids online, youtube and the like. check out the Mirai website.

And go dig up some more larch! I'm assuming larches grow easily and plentifully where you're from.

It's a slow process, so lots of time to spend learning. Which is a never ending process in itself.

Frieden

Seed
Reaction score
Welcome.

Cut it above the first branch, and let it grow. You want to start building taper.

In the meantime, read as much as you can from a wealth of sources. There's a ton of info on this forum alone. Just use the search option.

Check out vids online, youtube and the like. check out the Mirai website.

And go dig up some more larch! I'm assuming larches grow easily and plentifully where you're from.