Help Structural Pruning JBP

p_anova

Mame
Reaction score
Washington DC. DC ARBORETUM IS BEHIND MY HOUSE!
Hello All,

Just picked up my first JBP "Mikawa" from Meehan's and wanted to get some ideas for the first structural pruning to develop the tree. I believe the correct time of year would be late fall here in Washington DC. There is a whorl at the second branch level, about 4 total that needs to be dropped down to 2 but I am not sure which ones to keep.20210831_144729.jpg Above that, there is a long stretch with no branches and a touch of inverse taper until a very thick branch near the top is reached. Should I cut everything above the second branch and is this safe for the tree? I have done no work to it yet, just water. Any help styling tree would greatly be appreciated. 20210831_144632.jpg20210831_154654.jpg

vbakatare

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
sorry I can't help with the pruning. I have zero experience with pines. I personally like the position in the last photo, maybe rotate a few degrees counterclockwise to get the most of the nebari flare and that'll be your front? and maybe lift the left side by about 10% to try and make the movement no as straight?

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Too early for styling, but planning is good. In the spring, I would make these cuts…just as the tree is coming out of dormancy. You might also consider repotting it into good soil, and securing it into a pot that offers structural support since you’ll be growing some long sacrifice branches. Raise the soil level a bit too so you show the swelling base, but not the running roots.

Get rid of problem areas now so you don’t spend years trying to style around them. This will look like a different tree in 2 years.
C8F8BE49-55D1-4CA2-91D2-1D22B3A3F174.jpeg

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!