Help styling my Olive bonsais.

maroun.c

Omono
Reaction score
Hi All,
got a few olive bonsais that I think is the time to start working on shaping them. I'm still new to this and rather have your opinions on how to proceed with each to avoid making mistakes that cost me 1-2 year additional waiting time. They are still young trees and nothing fancy but I need to learn on them.
Now all these will be repotted for better soil next June as in my other thread where two of my collection including the nicest one I have, have gone south due to soil issues.
will go one at a time to have a focused discussion around each.
So tree Number 1
my second favorite, and I believe it has a bit of potential. this was pruned a bit around 3-4 months back and repoted into peat only. I know now that this isn't the best soil and will change it next year but worth mentioning that drainage is better than my old soil that nearly killed my other bonsais and I can see clearly better drainage. still the soil is wet for 4-5 days even afer medium watering.
I read that visible roots style doesn't fit olives but I kinda like the roots on this one (had a previous one with heavy aerial roots and I liked it a lot) so won't be chopping those roots. Not sure if the front one crossing the lateral one is a good thing or if i need to do something here?
I'm considering taking off some of the leaves or branches on the top as its a bit cluttered,maybe cutting off that lower branche growing tot he front. shortening those horizontal branches especially lower ones and wiring to point the a bit up towards the end?
Any suggestions or relevant comments are appreciated.
IMAG0030[1].jpg

Thanks.

Last edited:

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
so won't be chopping those roots.

I think you should.
I'm 90% sure in a year or 2, you will feel the same.

I would build a fence of mesh, and ground later it at yellow, and chop it at red.

Sorce

aml1014

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I think you should.