Help with cuttings please :)

Clorgan

Omono
Reaction score
So I'm new to bonsai and got this Chinese Elm a few days ago, seems to be doing well!

There were some very long parts, so I pruned a few bits, not too much until it's settled into its new home!

I heard they're easy to propagate, so I thought it'd be fun to try with the cuttings rather than waste them. Put some in a pot and a couple just in water. Left them on a table near patio doors to a south facing garden.

Will this work do you think? Is it a good position for them and should they be covered? Thanks very much! 20200528_094715.jpg

Attachments

• 20200528_113658.jpg
    20200528_113658.jpg
    261 KB · Views: 37
  • 20200528_113738.jpg
    20200528_113738.jpg
    236.2 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_20200527_135715_093.jpg
    IMG_20200527_135715_093.jpg
    98.1 KB · Views: 44

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Those are pretty skinny cuttings Claire. I have much better success when they are a bit thicker. I suspect that the piece needs a certain amount of stores to be able to grow new roots so the thicker ones can do it better.
Thinner, younger cuttings should root quicker in theory. the problem is that they are also transpiring more water through the leaves (and have less reserves in the stem) so they dry out quicker while there's no roots. If you can keep the humidity up so that they don't dry too quick they may still root for you. They will probably have afar better chance with a cover over them. If you still have the other end of that plastic bottle that makes a great cover for the ones in the pot. If they survive for a few weeks you can take off the screwcap to gradually accustom them to normal air again when they have some roots.
Good light is important and that means good light for plants not what we consider good light which is actually really dim for most plants. Near your south doors should be OK.