Help with decision about removal of a branch

Matthew Rudling

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I picked a rather old and gnarled Juniper Chinesis at a nursery which was in bad health at the time. I have left it alone these past few months but I have noticed that it is about to get inverse taper due to the Y shaped branches coming off the trunk. The inverse taper is not visible as it is happening on the front and back of tree as viewed from the sides. I am pretty new to Junipers and conifers and wanted some wisdom and advice in choosing which branch to remove. So far I am leaning to removing/jinning the right, thinner branch because the thicker one on the left shows better character and would result in better taper. I have attached some photos.Photo 2022-02-17, 16 18 28.jpg
Photo 2022-02-17, 16 18 54.jpg

Last edited:

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I agree with your plan to jin the right branch. You should be able to get good movement into the remaining branch with some wire. Nice!

Matthew Rudling

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I agree with your plan to jin the right branch. You should be able to get good movement into the remaining branch with some wire. Nice!
Say I’ve wired the left branch before, would I have to wait for it recover before rewiring?

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Why will choosing the thicker trunk giving better taper?
Usually I remove the thicker trunk and keeping the thinner one to give better taper bit there are many other factors to consider - further branching to continue taper and give more bends; branching and foliage close to the trunk to develop compact shape; direction of the bend and branches to give pleasing bends.
Jin and shari are both natural for junipers so always consider dead wood when reducing junipers. If you decide afterwards that jin is not good it can easily be chopped off. Much harder to put one back after pruning so I'd make jin first and check how it looks.