Help with drastic cutting

Shelly White

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
EST
I am new to the art of Bonsai and I have a Ficus that I have been letting grow for a few years and now it is time to cut it back.... but now that it's time to cut back I'm nervous. I don't want to kill my tree! It has grown tall and lanky and it's roots have grown considerably. They have fattened up but my trunk isn't as thick as I was hoping for. Either way I feel as thou t is time to prune considering how tall it has gotten and it's shape is really not looking very nice.
I know cutting back is the next step but figuring out where to cut is my issue. I do not want to cut it too much and have it die as I have worked hard to keep him alive (even cleaning each leaf with cotton swabs when it got scale one year)

If anyone can give me an idea of where I should cut him properly it would be much appreciated. I'm considering wire training as well since he wants to be so upright and he has started to lean to one side.

Attachments

• IMG_4119.JPG
    IMG_4119.JPG
    507.3 KB · Views: 87
  • IMG_4120.JPG
    IMG_4120.JPG
    391.5 KB · Views: 87

Shelly White

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
EST
Back story: It lives outside and was pretty tall when I got it (not this tall about 5 inches or so less) I read that letting the tree grow for a couple years can help thicken the trunk and then you drastically prune it.
I want to do the double trunk style and have been considering re potting it in a wider dish since the roots are off to one side and I would like to get them going on the other side as well but I feel like first thing in order is to cut it back.