Help with prunus serrulata

nickh

Seed
Reaction score
Hi! I am fairly new to bonsai and have started a prunus serrulata from seed. I am looking for some advice on what to do next. I am heading into fall soon, and then winter. During winter I will store outside under cover of snow (I live in Canada BC). It has grown substantially and is over a foot tall now. I want to encourage trunk growth, I am also curious about wiring and when that is appropriate, and when or if I should chop it. Any suggestions on what I should do with my prunus serrulata before winter?

Thanks so much!
Nick

Attachments

• 9D00400B-D31E-4329-A57B-069B467919C1.jpeg
    9D00400B-D31E-4329-A57B-069B467919C1.jpeg
    203.4 KB · Views: 46
  • 72E26F2A-606A-4CB0-B8A0-F188AE4A8C6E.jpeg
    72E26F2A-606A-4CB0-B8A0-F188AE4A8C6E.jpeg
    243.4 KB · Views: 48

Treefer

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi Nick, I see your post hasn't got any action so I thought I'd jump in. First, I would not be concerned about wiring for a at least a couple years. Your biggest challenge will be keeping it alive over winter. More trees die of wind than of cold. You will want to protect it from drying winds by placing it on the leeward side of a structure, building a "surround" and insulating it with leaves, etc. You can better protect the roots by planting it, pot and all, in the ground. Since it is from seed, I'm hoping it has been outside to climatize for a while.

Treefer

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Oh, and don't chop it for a looooong time. Let it grow freely.

Drewski

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Whereabouts in BC? I’m guessing you’re not down here in the Vancouver area if you’re expecting snow all winter. 😊

nickh

Seed
Reaction score