Help with struggling juniper nursery stock

Mwoodiwiss

Seed
Reaction score

I got these five Rocky Mountain junipers saplings from a nursery clearance for really cheap. They are definitely struggling. I've dabbled in indoor bonsai but this is my first attempt at outdoor trees. I've repotted one and wired another one. they're in a really wet compost type soil and the roots are extremely dense. Could this be why they're struggling? To much moisture and the roots too dense? Should I repot all of them in a faster draining soil mix? What about pruning and shaping, should I hold of on that until they're healthier? Any advice on how to proceed is much appreciated.

I live in Boise Idaho.BD4F0710-F7DA-458F-9A19-86195D231D76.jpeg

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
In my experience, such deals are because the nursery personnel recognize that the soil is breaking down and that your problem is the first step toward an inevitable end if they don't a)sell it or b) up/re-pot it asap, So, YES, repotting them into a better draining mix is a logical thing to do. Roots need oxygen to grow and do their job. The air spaces in organic soils vanishes as the organics breakdown/decompose --> no air spaces for air to get to the roots. If the soil is saturated with water, the roots cannot get oxygen (they are drowning), Either way, roots are not getting oxygen and the plant is in serious trouble..

Lastly, I'll say that being 'pot/root bound' is rarely a problem. In fact most bonsai are maintained in this state because we really don't want vigorous growth - healthy, yes; vigorous, not so much. Drainage can get kinda slow in this state, but it isn't a worry IF the foliage is healthy green.

Joe Dupre'

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a