Help with styling soft touch holly

Sarath

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Hi everyone,

I am new to bonsai world. Trying to learn.
Found this soft touch holly at a local nursery. It looked like it could be a good bonsai. Can you guys suggest a good style for this plant? Also any other advices related to this plant variety.

Thanks
Sarath.

Attachments

• 9E134C12-9A1E-4504-B67B-F050A5334066.jpeg
    9E134C12-9A1E-4504-B67B-F050A5334066.jpeg
    337.2 KB · Views: 61

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Hemp straw and Somniferum on the fires, traveller, signifying your “arrival celebration” here in the Tiny Forest! The Woody Dwarves (in the Northern Hemisphere) are donning their “spring haircuts”.... and ready to party!

Nice Holly! Ilex are fast-growing, and make QUITE suitable “bonsai specimens”

Where are you keeping yours?

Like in which climate zone, or relative area of the world? Updating your profile with this information will help keep information sought, AND given, pertinent to YOUR situations.. YOUR trees.. :)

Here lies a communal wellspring of shared knowledge/wisdom and experience.. drink deeply when you can... offer up when you are able.. like a cosmic “take a penny, leave a penny” concept.

Also.. the specific specimen you’ve chosen is fantastic! It will be a great tree to work with.

I’d like to see a little less up top.. 🤣.. but need more information before we can assist with your procedural timing.

Pleasure to make your acquaintance!

🤓

Sarath

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Hemp straw and Somniferum on the fires, traveller, signifying your “arrival celebration” here in the Tiny Forest! The Woody Dwarves (in the Northern Hemisphere) are donning their “spring haircuts”.... and ready to party!

Nice Holly! Ilex are fast-growing, and make QUITE suitable “bonsai specimens”

Where are you keeping yours?