Hi everyone!

Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
Hey everyone, I just wanted to introduce myself. My name's Tim, aka Timbo, aka Rubberband Man. I'm deep south here in Pensacola, FL. I'm new to keeping bonsai, well I've only been keeping for a couple years. Always been attracted to them and just now having the time to dedicate to learning about them. Currently I have several Maples, Junipers, Myrtles and Boxwoods. I have joined the local club and have been to two meetings and intend on many more.

I'm finding my interest in local, established trees. I'd really like some pines and bald cypress and look forward to next spring when I can collect some. A buddy got us permission to harvest Bald Cypress on private property and I'm stoked! Plus I live in an area rich with landscapers that yank the trees for discard, so I will be working on aquiring those. Should be a great collection year in 2015!

Luckily, I have a buddy that got into bonsai recently, and it helps to have a running buddy. He and I have weekly meets at one of our houses, and it's been great. We'll study the plants and watch YouTube vids, and tinker around- which is plenty of fun!

So, I'm beginning my long journey!

BTW, other interests include koi, and I am very active in that hobby, attending multiple shows yearly and bringing my koi. (I have several wins and took a Champion status in Atlanta in 2012.) Also very involved in koi clubs and helping others with ponds. My background is in marine aquaria and I used to own a reef store for greater than a decade. So, I am used to visualizing future growth and have much patience, persitence and diligence- all of which I feel will help me in this hobby.

Small world, I've seen some people on here I know from the koi scene! My moniker is Appliance Guy on koi forums- so some of you may recognize me too.

So, looking forward to learning and growing with you all!

Cheers,

Timbo

DougB

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A