Himalayan Birch - Should I buy?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Thanks to this hobby I pop in and out of every lowes and menards in my area. I found this Himalayan Birch there and it really caught my eye. $75 currently at lowes and I almost pulled the trigger then, does this have real potential?

Good 3-4 inch trunk, 4 big roots and that nasty one in the back.
This will be the biggest project I have taken yet, but the material speaks to me, had a whitebark birch in my yard growing up.

Attachments

• IMG_3978-4.jpg
    IMG_3978-4.jpg
    259.1 KB · Views: 6

_#1_

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
I'm still fairly new at this but based on observation, that little chopped stick in last pic usually mean the stock is grafted. You can see the difference in growth rate too.

If you're ok with that than next question would be the surface root flare/spread. First pic is promising as I can clearly see three toes/roots. Last pic may or may not be problematic. Are there surface roots under that large looper in that last pic?

If you find nebari to be satisfactory, are you satisfied with the straitish trunk? If you like the process of building the trunk, then by all mean take a shot at it.

Maybe I'm that cheap, but I pass on this one. Not 75 for a Birch...

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
I'm still fairly new at this but based on observation, that little chopped stick in last pic usually mean the stock is grafted. You can see the difference in growth rate too.

If you're ok with that than next question would be the surface root flare/spread. First pic is promising as I can clearly see three toes/roots. Last pic may or may not be problematic. Are there surface roots under that large looper in that last pic?

If you find nebari to be satisfactory, are you satisfied with the straitish trunk? If you like the process of building the trunk, then by all mean take a shot at it.

Maybe I'm that cheap, but I pass on this one. Not 75 for a Birch...