Hinoki Cypress, 7-8 years in training

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Hello all..........

This is a Hinoki cypress that I have been training for about 7-8 years. It was one of my first styling attemps. I consider myself lucky that it is turning out pretty well because 7-8 years ago, I had very little bonsai experience. Also, these trees are very unforgiving. Anybody who has worked with these trees knows that they will not bud back on old wood and die back can ruin the whole design.

When I first purchased this tree from a local garden center (paid maybe $32) it was essentially just a bush. I noticed, even back then, a beautiful slight curve to the lower trunk. I took it home and used my practically non existent, at the time, knowledge of styling and clipped away a few branches...lol really didn't know about wiring at that point either. Anyway, I left quite a bit of foliage on it because of my lack of knowledge. Which actually worked out well considering, what I didn't know back then about it not back budding.

There are good and bad points about this tree.. Some good points are, it is very well ramified. Another point is the natural nice curve of the trunk. It has very subtle movement and nice taper. Another point is there is foliage in all the right places and die back has not been a major problem.