Hinoki cypress help

Steve C

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
prBduG.jpg

At just 3 yrs I'm still learning but I have an issue here with my cypress I need some advice on. This is my first Hinoki cypress and I have had it for about 3 months or so. It's been doing well till I just noticed the other day, some of the inner foliage is starting to look yellow/brown and even a bit brittle. It's getting good sun, watering it when it seems to need it, and the ends of the branches are still nice and green. What would cause this? I know I must be doing something that is causing it.

Steve C

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Oh okay....well that is good news then and glad I asked. I was worried I was killing it. Thanks Cotyledon.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
What cotyledon said...it's self-pruning the solar panels that didn't perform well this year.

Steve C

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
This makes me much better guys thanks. For a while there today I was feeling like Charlie Brown with his Christmas tree...."Oh no I killed it" lol.

So will all the foliage do that over the next few weeks then? And I know it will have to over winter / go dormant, but when in the spring will it show new green? (zone 5/6)

M. Frary

Bonsai Godzilla
Reaction score
USDA Zone
You don't want those to die off if you can help it. Once they are gone they are gone for good. No backbudding on these.
It almost looks like the wire may be on too tight.
Or if you repotted it and did a lot of root work and wired it it may be stressed and dropping foliage.
And no,once it gets to this point it won't green up in the spring after winter.

Stan Kengai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
It is normal for Hinokis to shed inner foliage this time of year, but yours seems to be losing a higher percentage than normal. This tree should be in as much sun as you can give it.

Steve C

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a