Holly Hedge ... Now What?

BobKat

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Greetings All - the 1st pic is from April '21 when I harvested this 'soft holly' hedge. The next 2 pics are from today (03/06/22).
I'm a bit new to Bonsai & would love some input on this one. Do I try to make a 'forest'? How much should I chop & where?
I love all the wrinkles & natural bends. Is it time to root prune this & 'pot it up'?
Sorry for all the Q's, but Hey, that's how I learn, right? :)
Thanks for your help ...

Attachments

• IMG_6577.jpg
    IMG_6577.jpg
    432.7 KB · Views: 80
  • IMG_7461.jpg
    IMG_7461.jpg
    323.1 KB · Views: 80
  • IMG_7462.jpg
    IMG_7462.jpg
    312.3 KB · Views: 78

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
It's not quite a forest. This is more likely called clump style but it does look like you have good potential.
As to where to cut the pics don't really give enough detail for me to give specific advice.
Try looking for:
A major trunk that sets the 'theme' for the whole tree. If it's curved the others will look better if they have a similar shape.
Branches on the outsides of bends and growing toward the outside of the clump where possible.
Thickest trunk is the tallest, down to thinnest generally being shorter.
Find a 'front' (best viewing angle) where the major trunk is towards the front and just off to 1 side if possible. Ideally shorter trunks to the back for perspective.

It's probably a good time of year for you to pot up and the new foliage looks like it has recovered well from the original collection but I'd usually do branch and apex development in a grow pot as they grow a bit quicker. In a smaller bonsai pot growth slows considerably and it may take a few extra years to do the final development.
Also depends how severe the original root prune was. Often better to allow a couple of years for root recovery before making more root chops.

Mellow Mullet

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9