Hot weather plants - 9a Arizona

Samwise

Seed
Reaction score
Hi,
I’m a total beginner living in the Phoenix valley - zone 9a with low humidity. Can anyone provide recommendations for varieties that would work outdoors for the majority of the year?
I have a covered north facing back porch. I don’t have any south facing windows. I have a 100w LED grow light to supplement if needing to move indoors for part of the summer. Thanks for any advice!

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
In it's native country, Japan, they grew native to Japan trees, outdoors, all year round. I would suggest using Arizona native trees, so you can grow them outdoors year round. There's an active Bonsai Society in Phoenix, that can let you know what locals use. @AZbonsai might be able to help.

I enjoy the genus Bursera, the copal trees, actually most are shrubs. They will take full summer sun and survive drought well. Their sap is fragrant. They do not fit classic bonsai shapes, but I like them better than desert rose.

Starfox

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
I would also suggest some Australian natives like Callistemon and Melaleuca, both shouldn´t be hard to find and are good with the heat and bonsai techniques.

AZbonsai

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi,
I’m a total beginner living in the Phoenix valley - zone 9a with low humidity. Can anyone provide recommendations for varieties that would work outdoors for the majority of the year?
I have a covered north facing back porch. I don’t have any south facing windows. I have a 100w LED grow light to supplement if needing to move indoors for part of the summer. Thanks for any advice!
Hi Sam. Welcome to Bnut and bonsai. Here is a good list of plants for our neck of the woods: https://phoenixbonsai.com/list-of-plants-as-bonsai/