How do you determine when to water?

LouisianaNative

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8B
I'm a newbie, and trying to understand watering my bonsai. I have 5 right now. Two junipers, a Trident Maple, Chinese Elm and a small cypress tree. I live in a hot summer humid climate, North Louisiana, USA. These trees are in the sun about 6 hrs a day. Is this enough sun? It seems that the soil is moist, even after a day or so. I don't want to over water them. The Maple is dying, or at least I think it is. It has lost all it's leaves and hasn't had any for months. Scratching the trunk with my fingernail still shows green, but I'm not feeling good about it. The soil is always moist it seems. Too moist??? Could that be the problem? Watering these trees is a challenge. Mostly because I'm a beginner, and I simply don't know what to do. Any help? suggestions? Thanks in advance.

TN_Jim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Please explain your soil in every way -how did it become what you’re working with now, what sort of container is it in, and if possible, photos.
Maybe, don’t water today

Lochamp

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Many maples are understory trees and need less sun than one would think. Morning sun and afternoon shade is good normally. If you can't do that than you can also put a shade cloth over it.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Deciduous trees will loose turgidity when they are too dry - you want to water just before this happens. When the substrate/soil has run out of moisture that can be utilized by the tree, the leaves will get 'droopy'. When like this, you should note how the soil/substrate feels - wiggle your finger down into it. Then water. You'll see them perk back up (regain turgidity) within an hour or so and now you know. Apply this 'feel test' of the substrate/soil to your conifers as well. They will not tell you what is going on like deciduous trees will - it is just how they are.

Lorax7

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a