How Does Frost Damage Leaves

DrTolhur

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
It's generally common knowledge that frost at the edge of a season can cause harm to trees/leaves, but I've never seen anyone talk about how/why that happens...what the mechanism is. Is it literally the frost itself (the thin layer of ice crystals on the surface of the leaf) or just the cold temperature? I'm hoping for an actual physiological explanation more than hypotheses or even experiential observations.

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I am no scientist, but I believe damage occurs at the cellular level. Under certain conditions, water crystallizes, expands, and causes damage to the plant tissue.

Someone else will have to chime in with a more detailed/accurate explanation :)

DrTolhur

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Yeah, the damage is certainly in the cells. I assume it's basically the same as frostbite for humans, where the water inside the cells freezes and kills the cells/tissue. But there's enough dissolved stuff inside the cell water that I would think it would freeze well below 32ºF. So maybe it's the water condensing on the outside of the leaf surface that then expands and creates sharp crystals that puncture the cells from the outside in. This is what I'm hoping someone with specific knowledge can answer.

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
When foliage has just started growing, it's not yet producing enough sugars to resist ice crystal formation. Because the foliage is burning more than it's producing.
Add to that the fact that the cuticle is still forming so things can pass more freely through the leaf itself instead of bouncing off of a wax shield.
The more water, the harder the freeze burn.

In spring time, most plants don't produce the chemicals that reduce freezing effects, like glycerole and sugars. They use those instead to fuel growth. In general, this effect is stronger in deciduous plants.