How long should I leave this olive wired?

hierophant

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Howdy!

I repotted this olive tree about a month ago (Christmas day). I bought it online, so I'm not sure about age, but it's pretty young -- just a couple years. The planting mix is 75% lava/25% pine bark.

My question is, how long should I leave the wire on? I know general guidance is about a month, but this is my first time working in such a loose mix and I'm worried about it anchoring properly. At the same time, I don't want the wire to cut into the trunk.

(If it matters: it's living indoors under full spectrum fluorescents and getting water every 2-3 days.)

Thanks!

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Howdy!

I repotted this olive tree about a month ago (Christmas day). I bought it online, so I'm not sure about age, but it's pretty young -- just a couple years. The planting mix is 75% lava/25% pine bark.

My question is, how long should I leave the wire on? I know general guidance is about a month, but this is my first time working in such a loose mix and I'm worried about it anchoring properly. At the same time, I don't want the wire to cut into the trunk.

(If it matters: it's living indoors under full spectrum fluorescents and getting water every 2-3 days.)

Thanks!

What is that wire doing anyway?

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Hmm...
Well in general, you'd leave wire on until the tree grows begins to grow into it, or "until the wire bites in".
I'm not sure that you actually need that wire like that....

hierophant

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hmm...
Well in general, you'd leave wire on until the tree grows begins to grow into it, or "until the wire bites in".

Really? Is that specifically in this situation or a general comment about writing-for-stability after repot?

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Well, that's for branches really....