How to style this maple?

Reaction score
Hi! I have no idea what to do with this butterfly maple. I've added wire but i can't form the branches right in any way. Maybe i should prune? I'm a beginner so i would appreciate your help!😀IMG_20230412_140546.jpg

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Some things to think about:

Bonsai is about removing what isn't necessary and understanding that the "final" product will take a while to get to.
Existing growth can be mostly unnecessary in a final design. See past it.
As you have seen, wiring not really a great way to begin shaping a maple. Deciduous trees are "built" using hard pruning and regrowth.
The best bonsai is the smallest one taken from a larger one--The trunk on yours (the first third -or even fifth--of it out of the ground) is the core of the future tree. The top (Which you have wired) won't really offer much down the road and will remain long and gangly.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Hi! I have no idea what to do with this butterfly maple. I've added wire but i can't form the branches right in any way. Maybe i should prune? I'm a beginner so i would appreciate your help!😀View attachment 481905
For the next couple of years, keep using organic soil, watering properly, re-potting up to larger sizes along the way. Work on thickening the trunk and base so that eventually, after it grows longer and taller, you can chop it all off at a lower point so the tree will grow again with taper and hopefully give more branches and foliage to work with.

Currently, this tree is in development stage and nowhere near needing wiring, shaping, styling, bonsai-potting for the Refinement stage. Think in two phases: 1) development (organic materials, plantar pots, big growth - can take years); and 2) refinement (all inorganic medium, bonsai pot, refining and maintaining and not necessarily growing to get bigger and so on.

Attachments

• 9C40F8B2-7BEB-4C7D-8D50-C3A790688BD3.jpeg
    9C40F8B2-7BEB-4C7D-8D50-C3A790688BD3.jpeg