Hyn Patty's JBP Contest Thread

Hyn Patty

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
All right then. I'm getting a later start than a lot of you but I have no expectation of winning the contest, so that's all right! I'm new to trying pines as bonsai and I see that JBP's are expensive to buy so I'm going to try the patient route by seed. My goal for this contest is just to get any of these to make it 6 years. Whoo!

I ordered 30 seeds from ALLooABOUTooSEEDS on Etsy which are reputed to be have been collected from trees in the Mikawa district of Japan.
I also ordered 50 seeds from pandoragarden on Ebay as they were dirt cheap at $2.80 cents plus $2 shipping. I expect they'll take 2 or 3 weeks to arrive from overseas.
And 50 seeds from TreeSeeds.com (along with a small number of other kinds of seeds my husband will groan over as if I didn't already have too many plants).

If I end up with way more than I want to keep, I figure they'll make great gifts to bonsai friends and fodder for trades.

Fonz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Good luck!
Treeseeds.com are top notch seeds. 80-90% germination, big seeds)
Pandoragarden I got a germination ratio of 2%... (3 out of 150, small seeds)

Hyn Patty

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yes, I saw that /after/ I ordered a small quantity from Pandoragarden that others who had ordered from them had low success rates. Thankfully they were very cheap so it's not much loss if they don't do well. Which is a good reason to order a few from more than one vendor to cover one's butt. I suppose we just need to be careful to leave suitable poor feedback for Pandoragarden's auctions if the germination rates are shoddy. I appreciate your input!

Hyn Patty

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
The 'Mikawa' JBP seeds from www.myseeds.com arrived today. That was very fast. I'll get them soaking this evening and then into the fridge to start the 30 days stratification.

Attachments

• Mikawa JBP from MySeeds.jpg
    Mikawa JBP from MySeeds.jpg