I Collected an Interior Live Oak...

Kitvin713

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi, I've been the arboricultural world for a few years now and I am studying to take my ISA certification. I figured I probably should try to keep a tree or two alive before doing so. So I bought a juniper, an azalea, and dug up this little live oak. When I collected the live oak it was buried in forest duff up to the branch split. So I dug it up carefully maintaining the feeder roots and cut off the tap root. Its now in this little box i drilled some holes in and filled with some cactus mix I had laying around. What I'm wondering is should I be concerned with the split where the branches are? I was planning on leaving it alone for a good long time in that box. But now I'm wondering should I cut the top off right at the split to get it to focus on budding out and putting out more roots?

Attachments

• tempImagefiLgcM.png
    tempImagefiLgcM.png
    628.5 KB · Views: 38
  • tempImageryfKzo.png
    tempImageryfKzo.png
    655.4 KB · Views: 35
  • tempImageUlcotP.png
    tempImageUlcotP.png
    462.7 KB · Views: 40

NOZZLE HEAD

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Good on ya.

I would leave that live oak alone until it recovers from the transplant, mid summer at least.

It is all about balancing root mass to leaf mass, if you don’t have enough roots pulling in water to support the evapotranspiration from the leaves you could have some issues. There is a hormone balance between the roots and shoots as well, but after a transplanting water balance is more relevant.

Looks like those trees are on a balcony, which direction is it facing?

Kitvin713

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Good on ya.

I would leave that live oak alone until it recovers from the transplant, mid summer at least.