I got my bonsai last Christmas and having issues (newbie)

Reaction score
Hi guys,

So I'm fairly new to having a bonsai as I only got mine last Christmas and lately within the last couple weeks my Chinese elm hasn't been looking so healthy (as shown in the pictures). many of the leaves are going red and some even looking wilted or brown. I'm not sure what to do and any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_20200926_115509.jpg
    IMG_20200926_115509.jpg
    101.9 KB · Views: 81
  • IMG_20200926_115444.jpg
    IMG_20200926_115444.jpg
    124.3 KB · Views: 83

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
The sound of tin flutes fills the air as you round the bend, wanderer. The sway of the Woody Dwarves had led you far... you near their collection of secrets...deep within.. the Tiny Forest..

Seems like your tree is reeeally starting to miss the suns UNFILTERED presence... It is important to understand that (in most cases) INDOOR “bonsai trees” generally just means “can tolerate indoor conditions during stretches of INtolerable outdoor conditions”... there ARE a few exceptions.. but for the most part INDOOR trees do not exist.... there DO exist trees that can withstand being “wintered” indoors..

Now having said all that... a properly “tuned” indoor area for wintering plants is a HUGE asset.. and MYSELF, and MANY other users here take advantage... You just need to make sure your plants are creating enough to consume (enough light), they are receiving proper humidity, ventilation and breeze... I strongly recommend this book.... it’s on Stone Lantern fot purdy cheap if i recall correctly.

89D8B651-7FDC-4AD0-B9B6-83FE489F07C0.jpeg

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I live in Ireland and usually keep my tree on my windowsill where it can get sunlight.