I had this coach once: are all good teachers kind and gentle?

milehigh_7

Mister 500,000
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hot
Growing up I lived in several tiny towns. Our family would always go to the basketball games because one sister played in the band and the other sister was a cheerleader. A few times a year a huge rival came to town. It was the town where my mom grew up and where my grandpa still lived so I knew the town well. It was always a rough night because these guys were good. I mean they were like a well oiled machine. It seemed like they never got tired. You often wondered if they ever missed a shot. Every player played the same way. As a kid with an analytical mind, I was in awe.

When I was a freshman in high school, my parents lost everything and we had to move in with my grandpa. This was not really bad for me because among other things, I was going to get a chance to play basketball on this team. My first memory from that school was that NOBODY dared walk on the gym floor without dedicated gym shoes. The coach would see to it that you were suspended if you did. This coach was considered by pretty much everyone to be a world class egomaniacal jerk. (It turned out he paid to have the floor resurfaced very often out of his own pocket so his teams would always play on the best court possible. This was not public knowledge)