I need help

Hrl202020

Seed
Reaction score
Hi, so I’m new to this plant and bonsai thing. I am growing three flame trees and one black spruce. I bought one of those bonsai starter kits.

But anyways, I have one tree that has a brown stem but the stem is hard. Is that normal? Also another one broke apart from its roots. Will I be able to save that one? I’ll have pictures attached. If it helps, I started them on 10-18-2020

I watered them yesterday, but before that I didn’t water them for a few days.
I would really like some help please. Thank you

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    206.6 KB · Views: 45
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    215.5 KB · Views: 42
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    205.4 KB · Views: 48

Cypress187

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I don't see anything strange. You could always try again.

Welcome to the forum!

Most of us begin with bigger/older material not from seed, if you want to make a bonsai out of these you will need a lot of patience (half a decade).

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Growing from seed can be very rewarding and its lots of fun, but there is a learning curve as for anything else.
Your seedlings do not look good. Your soil mix also does not look good. I don't know if they dried too much or if they are too wet. Either is likely to be fatal.
There are many plants that can go from seed to small bonsai in just a few years, particularly tropical ones.

Hrl202020

Seed
Reaction score
Growing from seed can be very rewarding and its lots of fun, but there is a learning curve as for anything else.
Your seedlings do not look good. Your soil mix also does not look good. I don't know if they dried too much or if they are too wet. Either is likely to be fatal.
There are many plants that can go from seed to small bonsai in just a few years, particularly tropical ones.