KleinM

Sapling
Reaction score
Hi all!

I started a YouTube channel in September called Klein Bonsai. I decided to make YouTube videos for three reasons. One: To document my trees and see their progress as they (and myself) grow in the coming years and 2: All the bonsai YouTube channels are from the Northern hemisphere and it is hard to relate sometimes and know what to do and not to do especially with our mild Winters. Three: There is almost no information on a lot of indigenous trees and if they'll make good bonsai or not and the only way to get this information is through word-of-mouth from people who tried and failed.

Everything I know of bonsai I've learned on the internet and YouTube, so I thought that maybe I could help encourage someone to start bonsai that might be intimidated by seeing all these big old established trees.

I am by no means a professional, but if you would like to check it out (don't mind my shameless plug 😜): https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxv8t8FhZ6LnneoaWoJJTuQ

Any feedback is also welcomed 😄

KleinM

Sapling
Reaction score
Thanks. I was told that is a Japanese Maple when I bought it...but now that I take a closer look at the leaves, they are very similar to the Chinese Maple seedlings that I have. And I know that those are Chinese Maples, because I took the seeds from the big tree in the yard. Funny thing is, the leaves from the seedlings and the mother tree looks different. The leaves on the mother tree are smooth and look like a duck's foot 😅

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Thanks. I was told that is a Japanese Maple when I bought it...but now that I take a closer look at the leaves, they are very similar to the Chinese Maple seedlings that I have. And I know that those are Chinese Maples, because I took the seeds from the big tree in the yard. Funny thing is, the leaves from the seedlings and the mother tree looks different. The leaves on the mother tree are smooth and look like a duck's foot 😅