ID help please

August44

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
I was looking and marking a few at 6600" last weekend and saw this tree. The green needles are very short and stiff but I would not call them poky like spruce. I really like the tree and would look for a smaller one for collecting. The pictures are of one that had a 14-16 trunk.

I would also like any help in how to ID sub-alpine fir. There are some of them up there, but I know about nothing when it comes to collecting or how they might do at 3500" which is the altitude of Baker City, Or where I live. Any help is appreciated. Thanks, Peter

Attachments

• IMG_4909.JPG
    IMG_4909.JPG
    95.3 KB · Views: 55
  • IMG_4910.JPG
    IMG_4910.JPG
    72.4 KB · Views: 52
  • IMG_4911.JPG
    IMG_4911.JPG
    112.4 KB · Views: 45

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
Hi Peter, as a complete novice to pines unfortunately I cannot help. I’m sure there are plenty that can, but if you have a picture of the whole tree the silhouette shows branch structure and can often indicate the species because of that. I will add that that is true for me with UK trees. I have no idea if it is true with Pinus, in general, but I would be very interested to find out.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I am sure it is a spruce but I am unfamiliar with spruces in your ares.

August44

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
As far as I am aware we only have Engelman spruce in my area but will check with my forester and let you know.

Warpig

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Taken from wiki,
Picea mariana, the black spruce, is a North American species of spruce tree in the pine family. It is widespread across Canada, found in all 10 provinces and all 3 Arctic territories. Its range extends into northern parts of the United States: in Alaska, the Great Lakes region, and the upper Northeast

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
Doh! Tried to show you my Pinus and a Picea is produced in return

River's Edge

Masterpiece