Identify/styling help for newly aquired juniper

Muchas_Plantas

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a/
I picked this up at the consigment tables of the GSBF mammoth auction last month for 25 bucks. I think it was over looked because it was very shaggy, overgrown, elongated and neglected. As a beginner i saw this as an opportunity to learn about pruning and actually like where it ended up after 4 hrs of careful pruning.

Not sure where to go from here... I know it will need more branches taken but i will need to wait for it to bounce back as i removed a lot of foliage. It has certainly been wired before, and im not sure what type of juniper it is. Chinesis, im sure. Sergeants juniper? Any advice is appreciated!

Attachments

• 20190306_140933.jpg
    20190306_140933.jpg
    283.7 KB · Views: 95

Japonicus

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Hello @Muchas_Plantas welcome to forum.
Beginning in the hobby...did you remove any foliage between what is there now, and the trunk?
Biggest advice is not to remove any inner growth, before you know where you'd like to go with this.
Maybe too late now, but remove no more inner growth.
We love pictures, so before and after pics rock, now that we have this afterwards.

Having spent 4 hrs removing a lot of the "shaggy overgrown neglected" foliage
probably best not to remove the pot it's in this year, but pay careful attention to how
water moves through it. Always water based on needs checking the top 1/2-3/4" of soil.
You'll gain an intimate feel of when it will need watering as you learn each tree.
Even then, you still will have to check, rather than a routine watering schedule.
It will become more and more routine, and it will change based on season, daily weather changes
locationing (ok I made that word up) or changing placement, growth and soil composition as well
as degrading soils. Also health of the plant will lend to changes in watering routines.
Watering properly is no doubt the most crucial point of survival.