if I cut this will it die? scots pine

Aaronkslater

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
thanks for looking,

I'm not very experienced with pines, but I'm concerned that if I cut A and B from this tree that the small branch between them would die. I'm considering developing that small branch as the new apex. What is your opinion? I believe there is an issue with sap not continuing to flow to a small branch when a large branch near it is cut? Is this true?

Attachments

• scots pine 2.jpg
    scots pine 2.jpg
    424.3 KB · Views: 123

Cypress187

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
In theory i don't think it should die because there is still a connection to the roots and there is green on the ends.

fourteener

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I would cut them off a couple of inches above the branch you want. That's the kind of room you need to go back and Jin the branch later. Pines are notorious for pumping sap to wounds to help keep the wood from rotting. Thus you see deadwood on conifers, but deadwood seems to rot fast on Deciduous trees. It's not just a look that bonsai people like. It is a function of how the different trees work in real life. Sap flowing will not be a problem.

Aaronkslater

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
OK great. I had either heard or read that in situations like this with a pine the large branch above a very small branch is pulling the sap up the tree that is keeping the small branch alive. Cut the large branch and the small one might not have the ability to survive alone. It made a little sense to me but I admit sap flow is not something I totally understand.
thanks for both your inputs.

Cypress187

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Let's all try to refrain from giving advice if we know absolutely nothing about the subject at hand, shall we?