If you were going to kill some ants...

Paul G

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Not sure if non-beginners are allowed to post about Carmonas, but I'm going to toss out my line anyway and see if I get any bites.

-swish.....plunk!-

So I have this hefty Fukien that I DIDN'T get at either the mall or at Wall-Mart, and before you ask, YES, it has the requisite big ol', tacky-ass S-curve that I'll some day hack just above a likely branch.

But I have a soft spot for it, what can I tell you.

Anyway, I've been able to fend off the usual pests, but lately a colony of ting light-brown ants has discovered it and they just laugh at whatever I spray in their direction.

Now my wife has OCD when it comes to bugs, so I'm a veteran ant-fighter from way back, but I suspect that all the heavy artillery I keep below the sink will turn my poor tree into collateral damage. Any products to recommend? I will be bringing the tree inside the house in a month and a half, and if the ants are still holed up in there, shit-fits will be had.

Cheers,
Paul

Sansui

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi Paul, I had a persistent mealybug infestation on my fukien tea trees this past winter. This in turn attracted many small light brown ants to feast on the mealybug's honeydew. I beleive the ants actually farm the mealybugs to their advantage and may have seeded the trees with the mealybugs. I'm not a fan of heavy duty pesticides, but after neem oil and alcohol treatments failed I resorted to using Sevin which knocked both out. I did experience some leaf drop but all has been well since then. I place my trees in a large cardboard box lined with a trash bag to contain any pesticide over spray. I hope things are well in southeast MI! I have many childhood memories of MI!

Paul G

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone