IKEA Ficus has a squishy trunk.

Sinwood

Seed
Reaction score
I'm very new to this so don't judge the terminology.

So i bought a ficus from IKEA (UK) 3 weeks ago. I have placed it on a window so plenty of sunlight and I noticed when I went to water it that the tree had been sitting in a puddle of water for 3 or more days. I drained the water but the tree has lost 80% of its leaves and one of the main trunks is now squishy to touch and the bark is now breaking. Is there anyway to save it?

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Welcome to the site!
Do you have a photo? It would help tremendously - particularly if we can see the condition of the soil.

Ollie

Yamadori
Reaction score
These drop their leaves when moved to different light conditions, however this sounds a bit sketchier than just that.

Only 3 days sitting in water won't kill it, could you have been overwatering? They use rubbish soil on these, and it takes a while to dry out enough between waterings - you should probs only need to water once a week.

The lip of the drip tray on those IKEA pots sits above the bottom of the pot, so you need to tilt them to drain off the excess (or drill a hole in the bottom).

If root root is the issue, it may need a quick repot, try and conserve as many living roots as possible and put it in good soil. Put a clear plastic bag over the tree afterwards, mist daily to keep the humidity high, out of direct light.

Hope this helps!

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone