IKEA Fiscus Microcarpa Ginsing

Itsuo

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Greetings all,

I'm new to the bonsai world and purchased my first bonsai from Ikea nearly a month agohttp://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/80118468/. I've been left with very little information from Ikea on how to care for it, and everyone I speak to about it gives me contradicting information. All the while my bonsai is not doing very well. It's lost probably over 60% of it's leaves, which the instructions say will happen from the original relocation but it is still giving me a lot of grief.
IMG_1457_1024.jpg

I also know not to over water it but I still am struggling with understanding if I'm over watering or under watering it. :/ I started with once a week when the soil seemed a little more dry than normal but as the leaves continued to fall off, I've moved to watering every 2-3 days and draining the run off to prevent constant soaking at the bottom. The leaves are still falling off.
IMG_1566_1024.jpg

I've attached pictures from when I first bought it, its condition a week ago, and today. It lives in a well lit room but there is not a lot of direct sunlight to the plant. I'm not sure if that is an issue as the instructions say it's okay to have it indoor, and it's getting cold here so leaving it outside would surely expose it to sub 50deg weather. I have bought some fertilizer but I haven't used it yet. I would be very willing to buy a light for it that I could put on a timer if that is possible. Does anyone have any information for what kind of light might be purchased for that?
IMG_0152_1024.jpg

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!

Ross

Shohin
Reaction score