Fl_bonsai

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
This is my first time / post on here so bare with me lol . I have collected this witch I believe to be a ilex schillings “vomitoria” . Now my question is how hard can I cut it back to make it manageable ? Can I take basically all the foliage off? As the way it’s grown I feel windswept would be best style for it I’m open to suggestions. Just this things too damn big length wise .. ps it was collected today . An I know I know the damn trash cans in the back 🤫 it’s here until I know if I can cut it back pretty hard or have to leave some foliage on it ! Thanks in advanced

64137E9F-DC93-4A94-B0AD-209B83C5BACD.jpeg7BA7664C-6271-427B-A401-7E984C156CAD.jpeg3876E0F4-8736-44AE-A2A7-7C6C11DCF315.jpeg4C0652FD-308A-460E-ADC5-832A7D742059.jpeg25A8CB51-F95F-4A4F-9E69-99D6D374A047.jpeg

Tiki

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
You can more or less bare root these down here if dug at the right time and proper after care is given. Same for the tops. Do note though, large cuts are slow to heal if AT ALL. The wood tends to rot faster than the wound can close leaving large hollows to deal with years down the road. So If you plan on using whats left after you cut, be sure to seal your cuts with something, I use elmers wood glue alot and its cheap. Bonsai cut paste works fine too.
These are two I dug up with some club members earlier this month. Each weighing in a little over 100lbs, they are absolute monsters. From the last close up picture you can see they are already responding to the cut back and dig with new deep red colored growth. Hope this helps ease your nerves as to if your doing this right.
20200104_103045.jpg20200115_101048.jpg20200115_101051.jpg20200115_101128.jpg

Fl_bonsai

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a